George Seferis-Collected Poems, translated by Manolis Aligizakis

74979_3629791323956_2077615219_n

 

ΜΥΚΗΝΕΣ  (απόσπασμα)

 

Δώσ’ μου τα χέρια σου, δώσ’ μου τα χέρια σου

δώσ’ μου τα χέρια σου

 

Είδα μέσα στη νύχτα

τη μυτερή κορυφή του βουνού

είδα τον κάμπο πέρα πλημμυρισμένο

με το φως ενός αφανέρωτου φεγγαριού

είδα, γυρίζοντας το κεφάλι

τις μαύρες πέτρες συσπειρωμένες

και τη ζωή μου τεντωμένη σα χορδή

αρχή και τέλος

η τελευταία στιγμή

τα χέρια μου.

 

Βουλιάζει όποιος σηκώνει τις μεγάλες πέτρες

τούτες τις πέτρες τις εσήκωσα όσο βάσταξα

τούτες τις πέτρες τις εσήκωσα όσο βάσταξα

τούτες τις πέτρες τις αγάπησα όσο βάσταξα

τούτες τις πέτρες, τη μοίρα μου.

Πληγωμένος από το δικό μου χώμα

τυραννισμένος από το δικό μου πουκάμισο

καταδικασμένος από τους δικούς μου θεούς

τούτες τις πέτρες

 

 

MYCENAE  (excerpt)

 

 

Give me your hands, give me your hands

give me your hands.

I have seen in the night

the pointing peak of the mountain

I have seen the far side of the plain flooded

with the light of the hiding moon

I have seen, turning my head

the black stones rounded up

and my life like a taut chord

beginning and end

the ultimate moment:

my hands.

 

Whoever carries the heavy rocks sinks

I have carried these rocks as long as I endured

I have loved these rocks as long as I endured

these rocks, my fate.

Wounded by my own soil

tortured by my own shirt

condemned by my own gods

these rocks.

 

GEORGE SEFERIS-COLLECTED POEMS, translated by Manolis Aligizakis, Libros Libertad, Vancouver, 2012

 

One thought on “George Seferis-Collected Poems, translated by Manolis Aligizakis

Leave a Reply

