Tasos Livaditis/translated by Manolis Aligizakis

 

cover

ΚΕΡΔΗ ΤΗΕ ΝΥΧΤΑΣ

 

Τις μέρες συνήθως ονειρεύομαι ή ματαιοπονώ, αμφιβάλλω

ή υποκύπτω, αλλά όταν κατέβει η νύχτα τρέχω από κήπο σε κήπο

και ακουμπώντας το αυτί μου στις φλούδες των δέντρων

ακούω εκείνον τον αρχαίο λυγμό.

 

 

 

NIGHT GAINS

 

During the day I usually dream or I plough the sand, I debate

or retreat but when night falls I run from garden to garden and

placing my ear on the bark of the trees

I listen to the ancient sob.

 

 

 

TASOS LIVADITIS-SELECTED POEMS, translated by Manolis Aligizakis, Libros Libertad, Vancouver, 2014

www.libroslibertad.com

www.manolisaligizakis.com

 

Leave a Reply

