ANTHOLOGY OF NEOHELLENIC POETRY

 

GEORGE DOUATZIS’

 

ΚΟΚΚΙΝΟ ΚΑΣΚΟΛ

 

Δεν μπορούσα να αφαιρέσω τον κόσμο. Αλλά μπορούσα να αφαιρέσω τον εαυτό μου από τον κόσμο όποτε εγώ αποφάσιζα, πράγμα που με γέμιζε με αυτοπεποίθηση

 

Άλλωστε, φρόντιζα πάντοτε πολύ επιμελημένα την εμφάνισή μου διότι είχα να κρύψω πάμπολλες πληγές. Εκείνοι θαύμαζαν την κομψότητά μου και οι πιο ανόητοι την ζήλευαν κιόλας

 

Πώς να τους πείσω ότι το κόκκινο που έβλεπαν δεν ήταν του κασκόλ.

 

 

THE RED SCARF

 

I couldn’t erase the world but I could erase myself from the world, wherever I felt like it and this in fact filled me with satisfaction

 

Besides I always took care of my attire in detail since I had to hide many scars. People admired my trendy appearance and some even envied it

 

How could I convince them the red they saw wasn’t because of the scarf?

 

 

ANTHOLOGY of NEOHELLENIC POETRY, translated by Manolis Aligizakis, Ekstasis Editions, Victoria, BC, Canada, Autumn 2017

 

One thought on “ANTHOLOGY OF NEOHELLENIC POETRY

Leave a Reply

